squats, lunges & push ups

by Heather//

collage1

So I’m an advocator for many things, having breakfast is one, but I also love and see a need for home workouts. Not just for me personally, but for anyone. Not everyone has time to go to the gym for an hour session (that includes getting there and getting changed for it), nor do we have the motivation to go 7 days a week (you can only stare at a treadmill so many times a week!) But hear me out. I’m not saying that because we don’t go to the gym we don’t have to exercise (although a rest day, whether active rest or not is good to have), it’s okay!

Anyway, here are some reasons why I love home workouts:

  • They can be as simple or as complex as you like
  • They can be whatever intensity you desire
  • You can make them as long or short as you want (your schedule may only allow you to fit in a 5 minute ab workout in between study breaks for example)
  • You can chose what part of your body you want to target (arms, legs, cardio, abs – although abs and legs are my favourite ones to do at home!)
  • Here’s a secret, you can get them off the internet/instagram
  • There are apps for home workouts! (all you have to type in is “workouts” and millions of choices both free and paid come up to chose from. They even give you videos on how to perform them correctly, a timer and/or the number of sets and reps you need to do. The work is seriously done for you, you just have to do it!)
  • It’s free. By using your own body weight (which will still enhance/maintain your fitness and build muscle if that’s one of your goals), it means you don’t even have to pay to “build” your own home gym. Whilst it’s nice to have a jump rope, some dumbbells, a kettle bell, a medicine or swisse ball or even a bosu ball if you’re feeling adventurous, they aren’t super important for home workouts and you can leave using this equipment for the days you go to the gym. In fact, I currently only own a jump rope, which I acquired when I was in primary school.
  • You don’t have people looking at you. The amount of weird looks I get every time I perform a circuit at the gym (it’s generally a total body cardio circuit), is ridiculous! I think:

I’m just working out. Just because I’m not bench pressing or running on the treadmill for an hour, doesn’t mean my fitness is any less than yours (okay rant over)

  • And lastly, the best point about home workouts is that you can collapse from exhaustion when you have finished! (And then eat some yummy food afterwards. Like today I had a banana smoothie that contained 1 frozen banana and a glass of skim milk blended together. Sooooo good!)

So yeh, that was my afternoon (well 25 minutes of it anyway). Now I’m off to watch some TV (I promise I’ll get back to studying!) But here’s my circuits if you are interested:

Circuit 1 (Legs):

  • 20 squats
  • 20 plie squats
  • 20 donkey kicks per leg
  • 20 fire hydrants per leg
  • 20 circling donkey kicks per leg
  • 20 plie squats
  • 20 hip raisers
  • 30 lunge kicks

Circuit 2 (Total body):

  • 100 crunches
  • 10 push ups
  • 15 bench dips
  • 50 reverse crunches
  • 50 bicycle crunches
  • 50 oblique crunches
  • 25 squats
  • 60 jumping jacks
  • 1 minute plank
  • 45 second side plank (each side)
  • 3 minute bridge
  • 50 russian twists
  • 1 minute superman

†.

